Happy 150th Canada Series: Anniversary of Canadian Confederation

On July 1st this year we will be celebrating the 150th anniversary of Canada, also known as the 150th anniversary of Canadian Confederation. 

1885 photo of Robert Harris' 1884 painting, Conference at Quebec in 1864, to settle the basics of a union of the British North American Provinces, also known as The Fathers of Confederation.
The Fathers of Confederation

Canadian Confederation was the process by which the British colonies of Canada, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick were united into one Dominion of Canada. This happened on July 1st, 1867. Upon confederation, the old province of Canada was divided into the province of Ontario and Quebec along with Nova Scotia and New Brunswick. These four provinces formed the new federation. Since Confederation, Canada had many territorial changes and expanded to ten provinces and three territories.

Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, Quebec and Saskatchewan.

Northwest Territories, Nunavut and Yukon.

Do you know what is the big difference between a province and a territory?
Provinces get their power and authority from the Constitution Act, 1867. Territories in the other hand receive the power to govern from The Parliament of Canada.

I will be celebrating with my Happy 150th Canada Series posts and featuring one of my most favorite places in this amazing country. Join me next week. Stay tuned!
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...